3 European Museums that You Should See Before You Die

Usually, I find museums a bit… boring. I’ve been traveling long-term for the last three years, and believe me when I say, I’ve seen a lot of museums. A lot of museums…

IMG_4583.JPG

It’s gotten to the point that I avoid museums unless they’re free or I’m really, really bored. But with that said, there are three museums that I am incredibly thankful I didn’t miss. The following are the 3 European museums that you should see before you die.

1. Oskar Schindler’s Factory in Krakow, Poland

Heart-rending and beautifully executed, this museum of Oskar Schindler’s life and the times that he lived in left me breathless and shocked. It’s really something that you just have to see for yourself.

17380583322_fa94c1f0af_o.jpg

Where? Fabryka Schindlera, ul. Lipowa 4, 30-702 Krakow, Poland

How Much? 19 PLN

For more information: http://www.krakow-info.com/schindler.htm

2. The British Museum and National Gallery in London, England

Years of colonialism and questions of repatriation aside, the British Museum and National Gallery are absolutely staggering when it comes to the sheer volume of famous artifacts and paintings inside. Egyptian artifacts, Monet, van Gogh, you name it, and they have it at these two museums. The fact that they’re free is just astonishing.

SDC12479.JPG

Where? The National Gallery, Trafalgar Square, London WC2N 5DN, UK

SDC12775.JPG

Where? The British Museum, Great Russell Street, London, WC1B 3DG

How Much? Free!

For more information: http://www.britishmuseum.org/

https://www.nationalgallery.org.uk/

3. Grünes Gewölbe (The Green Vault) in Dresden, Germany

I actually don’t have any of my own photos of the most expensive museum on this list as photography of treasures within were prohibited, but believe me when I say that the wealth of the artifacts inside is truly unimaginable. This combined with Dresden’s sorrowful past makes the Green Vault an unforgettable experience.

the_green_vault_20101

By Artefakte (Own work) [CC BY-SA 3.0 (http://creativecommons.org/licenses/by-sa/3.0)%5D, via Wikimedia Commons

Where? Grünes Gewölbe, Residenzschloss, Taschenberg 2, 01067 Dresden, Germany

How Much? 12 Euros

For more information: http://www.skd.museum/en/museums-institutions/residenzschloss/gruenes-gewoelbe/

Have you come across any truly spectacular museums in your travels? If you have comment below and I’ll add it to the bucket list!

4 thoughts on “3 European Museums that You Should See Before You Die

  1. I thought your recommendation would be El Prado or Louvre really, but you have chosen Grünes Gewölbe! Unexpected! I use to visit every museum as well, now only when its free or I am bored too. Good choices!

Leave a Reply

