Chiayi to Chung Cheng: A Rural Bike Ride in Taiwan

My crazy boyfriend bikes 10k from Chiayi to Chung Cheng University for classes (and back again) during the weekdays. This weekend I decided to join him, and even though I still think he’s crazy, I think I get why he enjoys it.

IMG_2687.JPG
There’s the happy biker.

If you bike from Chiayi to Chung Cheng University you will see…

IMG_2688.JPG
Little creeks
IMG_2696.JPG
Distant mountains
IMG_2695.JPG
Pineapple farms
IMG_2702.JPG
Cool graffiti
IMG_2703.JPG
Tombs
IMG_2705.JPG
Palm trees
IMG_2709.JPG
And little temples.

When we finally arrived in Chung Cheng after about 45 minutes, I was blown away by the gorgeous, lush, green campus and unusual architecture. So while I might not be making the trek as often as Oscar does, I can assure you, I will be going to Chung Cheng by bike again someday soon.

IMG_2711.JPG
Chung Cheng is so green!
IMG_2713.JPG
And has such weird architecture.
IMG_2722.JPG
Like, seriously weird architecture.

How to get there: Honestly, the easiest way to get there is to just type Chung Cheng University into Google Maps and follow the directions. There are a lot of twists and turns to the ride, and I wouldn’t recommend going without a GPS or someone who knows the way. I’d have been very lost had I not been following a student, but I know Oscar used Google Maps the first few times he made the journey.

IMG_2731.JPG
The spray off that fountain was so refreshing.

Does anyone know some other fun bike rides around Taiwan? I’ve got at least a year here, so if you’ve got an idea, comment below, and I’ll add it to my trip list.

Please and thank you! 🙂

 

2 thoughts on “Chiayi to Chung Cheng: A Rural Bike Ride in Taiwan

Leave a Reply

