10 First Impressions of Taiwan

1. There are 7-Elevens everywhere. Sometimes you can see a 7-eleven from the door of another 7-Eleven.

IMG_2636.JPG

2. The summer weather follows a trajectory. The mornings are blue skied and breezy. Around noon the sky will get gray and the air will get very hot. By around 3 PM massive rain showers will start and the showers will lift in the evening. It’s nice to be able to plan on the weather.

IMG_2627.JPG

3. Bubble tea shops are all over the place. Apparently they were invented in Taiwan. I didn’t know that. I’m still warming up to gummies in my drinks.

4. Shops don’t open until the afternoon. After spending a year in Hanoi, where everyone gets up at dawn and the streets are buzzing by about 8 AM, it’s a bit of a shock to see businesses still closed around noon.

IMG_2635.JPG

5. Arcades are everywhere and constantly filled with young people. I haven’t won anything in a claw machine yet, but it’s my goal for the year.

IMG_2638.JPG

6. Taiwanese food variety hasn’t impressed me yet. So far I’ve only found dishes made of rice with meat and brown sauce. Don’t get me wrong. It’s nice, but I’m on the lookout for something with a bit more diversity. Holler at me if you know of any yummy Taiwanese foods I should hunt down.

IMG_2608.JPG

7. There are no bars. You can buy alcohol at 7-Eleven, but I haven’t seen people going out to drink yet.

8. People are super friendly. I hear so many 谢谢 (thank yous). Also people are always saying hello and trying to strike up a conversation. I love it.

9. There aren’t a lot of sidewalks, at least in the smaller towns. I just want to walk, play Pokemon Go, and not be afraid of being hit by motorbikes. Being alert sucks.

IMG_2568.JPG

10. There are parks and green space everywhere. Hurray! Fresh air. ❤

IMG_2624.JPG

I’m excited to explore Taiwan and find out what life here is all about. …once I move out of my hotel and get hired, that is. Looking forward to a new year full of adventure!

 

2 thoughts on “10 First Impressions of Taiwan

Leave a Reply

