The Best Flea Market: Tippecanoe County Flea Market

Is there anything better than a flea market? Where else can a ten-year-old with a dollar and a sixty-year-old with a thousand dollars walk in and walk out a few hours later feeling excited and proud with a bag full of goodies. I’ve been to hundreds of flea markets from Pigeon Forge to Poland, and loved them all, but after traveling the world one of my absolute favorite flea markets is the one closest to my hometown: Tippecanoe County Flea Market.

Tippecanoe County Flea Market

Housed in the Tippecanoe County Fairgrounds, this flea market is a sprawling, busy, Sunday morning ritual for me and my family.

Tippecanoe County Flea Market

While some flea markets feel more like a junk sale.

Would you ever wear used lingerie?

Other markets feel like ridiculously overpriced antique stores.

You want how much for those?!
You want how much for those?!

But the Tippecanoe County Flea Market is a wonderful mismatch of the old and the new.

Tippecanoe County Flea Market

And the best part? It’s affordable. I love that I can walk into this market with ten dollars and leave with a total haul in my bag.

Tippecanoe County Flea Market

My personal favorite purchase of late was this $3 chalkware dog.

Err my god, so cute!
He’s so cute! I just love his guilty-looking little face.

So if you’re anywhere near Lafayette, Indiana on the first Sunday of the month, stop on by for a sunny walk through the fairgrounds, and be sure to bring a few bags and maybe even a pickup for all the great finds you’re sure to come across.

tippecanoe county flea market

When?

The first Sunday of every month

Where?

1010 Teal Road, Lafayette, IN 47905

Want to know more?

A calendar of upcoming fair events can be found here:

https://extension.purdue.edu/Tippecanoe/Lists/Fairgrounds%20Calendar/calendar.aspx

9 Comments Add yours

  1. Jerry Green says:

    It IS the best flea market around. It was a shame, the best Sunday this year, weather wise, and drove over only to find fields of Bob Rorhman cars for sale. I will try again next month, weather permitting.

    1. shybackpack says:

      You’re not alone. I went down as well, assuming the flea market was on only to be disappointed. Next month I’ll remember to check the Purdue extension calendar first, but I was still bummed last Sunday.

  2. Rich Segvich says:

    How much are the spaces for flea market ?

    1. shybackpack says:

      Sorry, I’m not associated with the flea market, so I don’t know, but you can look at these FAQ’s on the Purdue Extension page. There is a name and number that you could try calling. https://extension.purdue.edu/Tippecanoe/Pages/CFFAQ.aspx

      Otherwise you might find your answer here… https://www.facebook.com/Flea-Markets-and-Fundraisers-Tippecanoe-County-Indiana-and-Surrounding-528698733917825/?hc_ref=PAGES_TIMELINE&fref=nf

  3. Your not listed on the fair grounds calendar and there ate no times listed for hour you are open.

    1. shybackpack says:

      Hey, sorry, this is an old post. I just like the flea market. I’m not affiliated with the fairgrounds, so I am not sure when it’s open, or if, it’s open this month. Sorry, I can’t be of any help.

  4. Kirk Johnson says:

    It the flea market gping to be one in 2017?

    1. shybackpack says:

      Probably, but I’m not officially with the flea market. I really don’t know.

Leave a comment